The history of Ouranoupoli is totally related to the development of Mount Athos as a unique monastic state. There are also specific monuments that still stand and are dated before the massive architectural growth of Mount Athos. Speaking about the tower of Ouranoupoli, which is built next to the harbor. It is the largest and best-preserved tower in the entire are of Chalcidice peninsula, dated to the dawn of the 14th c., constructed for the protection of the Vatopedi Monastery in Mount Athos. The tower is also known as the “Tower of Prosforiou” or “Tower of Loch”, both names related to tower’s history. The first, referred to the tower as the principal building of the “metohi” – property of Prosforion, a certain area, which was under the supervision of Vatopedi Monastery. The second name is dedicated to the Australian “Lochs”, a couple who settled in the tower during 1930, as members of humanitarian groups.
The diversity of the tower's construction - historical phases, is one of the most formidable features. More specifically, during the Byzantine phase the first floor was constructed, while on the Ottoman phase three more floors were added. The wood interior is dated in the 19th c.
Modern Ouranoupoli has been configured by a cultural identity, mainly formed from Asia Minor refugees who settled in 1924. The first village was initially named “Prosforion” and was attached to the town of Ierissos. In 1946 the name was changed to “Ouranoupolis”, a reference to the ancient town of Ouranoupoli, which was founded in 315 B.C. by Alexarchos, the son of Antipatros and brother of Kassandros. Ancient coins that found bring the sign “Ourania City' or “City Ouranidon” – a sky city, while Aphrodite Urania was depicted on one side and a sun on the other. The exact position of this ancient city is still unknown while it has been identified with monumental walls remains of an ancient town that have been discovered in the sea.