It was established in 1982 by the Historical - Folklore Society of Corfu, an association that was embodied in the face of Nikos Paktitis, a retired teacher, researcher and pioneer folklorists. He was an emblematic figure of Corfu on the late 90s, as his efforts led to the islands’ cultural growth.
Today, the Folklore Museum of Central Corfu is housed on a traditional, restored Corfiot house in the “Saint Ioannis” neighbor of the village. It holds two floors worth of exhibits which correspond to the daily life of Corfiots who lived during 1860 - 1960.
The marble staircase leads to the first floor, which is the main body of the museum, while on the second floor there is a library and the museums’ historical archive. The ground floor has been left essentially as it was when inhabited. The star exhibit is a surviving “papyrélla” – a thatched boat, a type used along Corfu’s west coast until the 1950s.
The permanent collection of the museum consists of respective furniture, as the traditional bedroom with a typical Coquette –the bed’s bronze skeleton- and a second bed with wooden “tritselia” -bed feet, utensils like a collection of homemade dishes and masterly handicrafts, a table-showcase with pieces of Corfiot female and male costumes, a collection of musical instruments, agricultural and household tools, a cobbler's workshop, ceramics, fishing equipment and ecclesiastical items.